NASHVILLE #16

2015-2016 Nashville Board

OFFICER

NAME & FIRM

EMAIL ADDRESS

President

Kaylah White

kwhite@tnagc.com

 

Associated General Contractors of Tennessee

 

Vice President/STAR Coordinator

Tiffany Collins

tcollins@messer.com

 

Messer Construction

 

Secretary

Chelsea Antici

cantici@abctennessee.com

 

Associated Builders & Contractors, Inc.

 

Immediate Past President

Ruth Kjosa

ruth_kjosa@ajg.com

 

Arthur J. Gallagher Risk Mgmnt Svcs, Inc.

 

Treasurer

Andrea Nicholson

anicholson@summitconstructors.com

 

Summit Constructors, Inc.

 

Director

April Grant

agrant@loseassoc.com

 

Lose & Associates, Inc.

 

Director

Tomeka Allgood

Tomeka.Allgood@Cat.com

 

Caterpillar Financial Services

 

       The Nashville Chapter #16 of the National Association of Women in Construction was chartered on January 31, 1959, with 32 chartering members. Our chapter was the 16th chapter within the National Association to be chartered.

How did the Nashville Chapter get started?  Mr. T. E. Akers (known to most as Jack Akers), now deceased, owner of a general contracting firm, T. E. Akers & Company, attended a meeting of contractors and learned about NAWIC from a man in Memphis.  Mr. Akers thought such an association would be of mutual benefit to the construction employers and the ladies working in their offices.  He suggested that his “gal Friday” Marion Beazley see how many women would be interested in a NAWIC chapter in Nashville.  There were 32 women willing to make the commitment to organize this chapter.  Marion Beazley served as the first chapter president.

The Nashville Chapter of NAWIC strives to be an integral part of the construction community as well as the community at large in the Nashville Area.  Our members are respected in both the construction industry and Nashville.