GR BIRMINGHAM #53

2017-2018 Birmingham Board

OFFICER

NAME & FIRM

EMAIL ADDRESS

President

Virnetta Woodbury
vwoodbury@brasfieldgorrie.com
 

Brasfield & Gorrie

 

Vice President

Tonya McLaughlin

Tonya.McLaughlin@ram-tool.com
 

Ram Tool Construction Supply Co.

 

Secretary

Amy Moore

amymoore@davidallen.com
 

David Allen Company, Inc.

 

Immediate Past President/STAR

Amber Kinney

akinney@dunnconstruction.com

 

Dunn Construction Company, Inc.

 

Treasurer

Mindy Harris

mindy.harris@spectracf.com
 

Spectra Contract Flooring

 

Director

Gloria Cook

gcook@robinsmorton.com

 

Robins & Morton

 

Director

Anna Rosato-Brown

annab@alagc.org

 

Alabama AGC

 

Director

Laura Skellie

lskellie@robinsmorton.com

 

Robins & Morton

 

Director

Holly Bratton

hbratton@brasfieldgorrie.com

 

Brasfield & Gorrie LLC

 
Director Marketa Williams mwilliams@businteriors.com
  Business Interiors/DIRTT Environmental  

 

The National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) began as Women in Construction of Fort Worth, founded on September 11, 1953 by Ida Mae Bagby and 15 other women who were looking for a support system. These women were all actively employed in the construction industry and had been doing business with each other for years when they decided to finally meet face to face. This progressive group of women had the foresight to create an atmosphere where they could network and support each other professionally as well as personally. This support system gave them the confidence to reach for and achieve their goals.  They wanted to branch out beyond Fort Worth in search of other women to join the organization, but they discovered the charter was not adequate and did not have the powers to organize other chapters.

Women in Construction of Fort Worth amended their charter to incorporate other chapters in Texas and throughout the nation. In doing so, on May 17, 1955, they became The National Association of Women in Construction. NAWIC Birmingham Chapter #53 was formed on June 17, 1967.